Fifth Semester

I am now in my junior year in the University of the Philippines Diliman. I already had five semesters and all of them made me learn and experience different stuff, both good and bad. My fifth semester was somehow different among the others.

One reason is that I didn’t live in a dorm this semester. For my entire college life, I always had a dorm not until the first semester of my junior year. It wasn’t part of my plan actually, to not have a dorm because I live miles away from Diliman, 2 hours away. Too much of a hassle indeed, not having a dorm added up to my burden as a third year college student. All the stress, pressure, and hassle in commuting made this semester a very exhausting one. Not having a dorm had its own pros and cons. Some of its pros were I didn’t have much time to go elsewhere aside from school and home; I was able to save more because of it; and lastly, I was able to eat properly (the dorm life taught me to skip meals). On the other hand, the cons of not having a dorm were much greater than its pros. Some of these were: I was always late for my first class (7 am class btw); I wasted 4 hours of each day because of the long travel; Once I get home, I always felt tired, too tired to not function properly and skip my homeworks; and lastly, the pollution, dirt and rush hour. Everything has its own pros and cons. I am just glad that I am almost over with this semester. I’m really hoping to find a nice and cozy dorm next semester so I won’t have to suffer from commuting everyday and feeling tired all the time. Although not having a dorm seems to be a bad thing, I’m still thankful for the experience because of how it taught me new things to improve myself and be a better individual.

Next reason of my fifth semester being a different one was because of UP Travel Society. I wasn’t 100% with my plan in applying for an organization. I actually don’t know what pushed me to join the UP Travel Soc. It was my first time to join an org with THAT kind of application process. I won’t get into details but the process wasn’t easy. It was difficult, yes. But it was also fun. I made new friends. Well we weren’t just friends in this organization, I’m guessing we are more of a family. I can say that joining UP Travel Soc was the highlight of my semester. I had experienced a lot of “first time” during my application process and everything was hella worth it. I am just so happy now that I am a part of the University of the Philippines Travel Society. I’m proud to be a member of such organization knowing that I worked REALLY HARD to get into the organization. Indeed, nothing worth having comes easy.

MY FIFTH SEMESTER HAD A LOT OF UPS AND DOWNS. BUT THE IMPORTANT THING IS, I LEARNED. A LOT. IT JUST FEELS GOOD TO BE STUDYING IN THE UNIVERSITY OF THE PHILIPPINES. EVERYTHING SEEMS TO BE WORTH IT.

About maquisido

Free-spirited woman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

